In California, employers must provide paid sick leave to all employees who work in the state. This includes part-time and temporary workers and those employed by companies with fewer than 25 employees. The law requires employers to provide at least one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Employees can accrue up to 24 hours of paid sick leave in a year and use their time off when they are ill, to care for family members who are sick or injured, or to attend medical appointments.
Employers are also required to allow employees to carry over unused sick days from one year to the next and must reinstate any unused days lost due to a pay period reset. Employers are not allowed to discriminate or retaliate against employees who take paid sick leave and must keep records of accrued and used the time off for up to three years.
What is not covered by the law is how employers are supposed to pay employees for sick days, as this varies based on individual contracts and policies. Generally, employers are expected to pay a pro-rated amount based on the employee’s current rate of pay. For example, an hourly worker who has accrued eight hours of paid sick leave would be paid for eight hours at their regular hourly rate.
What are my rights as a worker in California?
As a worker in California, you have the right to receive paid sick leave, as well as other benefits such as minimum wage, overtime pay, and meal and rest breaks. You have the right to be free from discrimination or retaliation based on your protected class (age, race, gender identity, etc.). You also have the right to a safe work environment and to be provided with any necessary safety equipment. Finally, you have the right to be informed of any changes in your employment status, such as a pay raise or layoffs.
It is important to remember that these rights are in place to protect you, and your employer is legally obligated to abide by them. If you feel your rights have been violated, you can file a complaint with the California Department of Industrial Relations or seek legal counsel from an experienced employment attorney.
The California Labor Code provides more detailed information on the law regarding sick days in California. Employers must stay informed about their legal obligations and ensure that their policies comply with the law. Employees should also be aware of their rights when taking paid sick leave. California paid-sick-leave law provides important protections for workers in the state.